[TASK] Warn in [SYS][UTF8filesystem] that a valid UTF-8 locale is necessary 94/61894/3
authorChristian Eßl <indy.essl@gmail.com>
Sat, 5 Oct 2019 15:56:43 +0000 (17:56 +0200)
committerAnja Leichsenring <aleichsenring@ab-softlab.de>
Fri, 11 Oct 2019 19:47:15 +0000 (21:47 +0200)
Add a small warning in the "Configure Installation-Wide Options" modal
for [SYS][UTF8filesystem], that warns users about the fact, that a valid
UTF-8 compatible locale string is necessary as well, in order to not
produce weird bugs when handling files with special characters.

Resolves: #89351
Releases: master
Change-Id: If5def1660e7d223e0a23204ec129386141900307
Reviewed-on: https://review.typo3.org/c/Packages/TYPO3.CMS/+/61894
Tested-by: TYPO3com <noreply@typo3.com>
Tested-by: Daniel Goerz <daniel.goerz@posteo.de>
Tested-by: Anja Leichsenring <aleichsenring@ab-softlab.de>
Reviewed-by: Mathias Brodala <mbrodala@pagemachine.de>
Reviewed-by: Henning Liebe <h.liebe@neusta.de>
Reviewed-by: Jörg Bösche <typo3@joergboesche.de>
Reviewed-by: Sascha Rademacher <sascha.rademacher+typo3@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Daniel Goerz <daniel.goerz@posteo.de>
Reviewed-by: Steffen Frese <steffenf14@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Julian Geils <j_geils@web.de>
Reviewed-by: Anja Leichsenring <aleichsenring@ab-softlab.de>
typo3/sysext/core/Configuration/DefaultConfigurationDescription.yaml

index 2d2e2d9..e842c43 100644 (file)
@@ -144,7 +144,12 @@ SYS:
             description: 'Enable the severity of log messages to be logged (see systemLog option) - Only messages with same or higher severity are logged.'
         UTF8filesystem:
             type: bool
-            description: 'If TRUE then TYPO3 uses utf-8 to store file names. This allows for accented Latin letters as well as any other non-latin characters like Cyrillic and Chinese.'
+            description: |
+              <p>
+                If TRUE then TYPO3 uses utf-8 to store file names. This allows for accented Latin letters as well as any other non-latin characters like Cyrillic and Chinese.
+                <strong>IMPORTANT:</strong> This requires a UTF-8 compatible locale in order to work. Otherwise problems with filenames containing special characters will occur.
+                See [SYS][systemLocale] and <a href="http://php.net/manual/en/function.setlocale.php" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer">setlocale()</a>.
+              </p>
         systemLocale:
             type: text
             description: 'Locale used for certain system related functions, e.g. escaping shell commands. If problems with filenames containing special characters occur, the value of this option is probably wrong. See <a href="http://php.net/manual/en/function.setlocale.php" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer">setlocale()</a>.'