[BUGFIX] sysext:core Documentation reST syntax
[Packages/TYPO3.CMS.git] / typo3 / sysext / core / Documentation / Changelog / master / Feature-35245-ReworkWorkspaceNotificationSettings.rst
1 ========================================================
2 Feature: #35245 - Rework workspace notification settings
3 ========================================================
4
5 Description
6 ===========
7
8 The current notification settings have some drawbacks and are not easy to
9 understand if it comes the the expected behavior in the workspace module.
10 The settings are defined in each sys_workspace and sys_workspace_stage
11 record and are evaluated in the workspace module if sending a particular
12 element to be reviewed to the previous or next stage.
13
14 Currently there are the following notification settings:
15
16 * on stages
17
18   * "edit stage": takes recipients from "adminusers" field
19     (workspace owners)
20
21   * "ready to publish" stage: takes recipients from "members" field
22     (workspace members)
23
24 * on preselection of recipients
25
26   * "all (non-strict)": if users from workspace setting (field "adminusers"
27     or "members") are also in the specific "default_users" setting for the
28     stage, the checkbox is enabled by default and cannot be changed,
29     otherwise it's not checked
30
31   * "all (strict)": all users from workspace setting (field "adminusers"
32     or "members") are checked and cannot be changed
33
34   * "some (strict)": all users from workspace setting (field "adminusers"
35      or "members") are checked, but still can be changed
36
37 * behavior
38
39   * sending to "edit" stage: members are notified per default
40
41   * sending to "ready to publish" stage: owners are notified per default
42
43 The changes extends the possibilities to define notification settings:
44
45 * on stages
46
47   * add settings for "publish-execute" stage (actual publishing process)
48
49 * on preselection of recipients
50
51   * remove modes
52
53   * replace settings for showing the dialog and whether modifying the
54     preselection is allowed at all (getting rid of the "strict" modes)
55
56   * add possibilities to defined notification recipients
57
58     * owner & members as defined in the accordant fields
59
60     * editors that have been working on a particular element
61
62     * responsible persons (on custom stages only)
63
64 Impact
65 ======
66
67 The meaning and behavior of the workspaces notification settings concerning
68 preselected recipients and the possibility to modify the selection on moving
69 an element to a particular change is different now. However, an upgrade wizard
70 helps to upgrade the settings to the new definitions.